Delhi Metro | Lajpat Nagar to become Delhi metro’s second biggest interchange stn

New Delhi: Delhi Metro commuters can now cheer as work is on to make Lajpat Nagar Metro station, in South Delhi, the second biggest interchange station of the Delhi Metro network. So far, Kashmere Gate on the Red Line (Dilshad Garden-Rithala) is the biggest interchange with three metro lines crisscrossing here, and hence having the highest number of commuters.

Currently, work on Lajpat Nagar Metro station is at Phase-III. By October 2017, the Pink Line (Majlis Park to Lajpat Nagar) will be open. Between Majlis Park and Lajpat Nagar, there will be 18 metro stations, proving to be a boon for commuters.

Post October, work will begin for Phase IV. The project will have three lines intersecting at this station, making it one of the busiest stations in Delhi.

“In Phase-IV Lajpat Nagar will be connected to the Yellow Line Huda City Centre – Samaypur Badli). The new 7.96 km corridor between Lajpat Nagar and Saket G-block will begin. This will in total make three lines meeting at this station, with which the daily ridership is also expected to go up. This will also help take the load off on already overcrowded Yellow and Red Lines,” said a senior metro official.

The Pink Line will be extended to Shiv Vihar. The 58 km-long Pink Line will then become the longest corridor in the entire Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC).

Officials add that the work on Phase-IV will extend the network to outer Delhi areas as well as make the IGI airport more accessible. The proposed six corridors under the phase-IV include — Rithala – Narela (21.73 km) Inderlok – Indraprastha (12.58 km), Tughlakabad – Aerocity (20.20 km), Lajpat Nagar – Saket G-Block (7.96 km), Janakpuri (west) – RK Ashram (28.92 km) and Mukundpur-Maujpur (12.54 km).

Lajpat Nagar Metro Station to have three interchanges —
1. Kashmere Gate to Escorts Mujesar
2. Majlis Park to Lajpat Nagar (extending to Shiv Vihar)
3. Lajpat Nagar to Saket G-block

Source: DNA


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s